A Small Business Response to Obamacare

jareksteele

Left Bank Books pays 100% of our full-time employees’ health insurance premium.

I’d like you to let that sink in for a moment, because this fact is one of the reasons I decided to become an owner of this St. Louis institution.  

I’ll also let you in on another secret – by the end of this year, my bookstore will have paid $270,550 over the past five years for health insurance.  Our group is (obviously) small; an average of 12 people are enrolled.  Each bookseller’s premium averages out to about $415 per month.  We each have a $5000 deductible.

To put that into perspective, the average paperback retails at about $15.  We pay about $8.25 to the publisher, leaving us $6.75 to pay all other expenses (rent, payroll, electricity and, yes, health insurance).  That means that we have had to sell 40,082 paperbacks at full cost…

View original post 406 more words

One thought on “A Small Business Response to Obamacare

  1. I love you for taking the time to write and post this. I wish you were closer. I “run” to buy books all the time so mostly shop close, at Barnes and Noble West County Mall. I love you more, but I am an impulsive, impatient modern American. Ugh! You do get some of my dollars, but I wish you got them all. xo

Leave a Reply

